Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers from European Neighbouring Countries

Coimbra Group Universities have been providing, since 1999, young researchers from the European Neighbourhood with the opportunity to spend a short stay at a Coimbra Group University to carry out part of their research work.

We will inform all candidates about the outcome of their application around the end of June 2021


Eligibility criteria and list of participating universities in 2021

Universities of the Coimbra Group offer short-term visits to young researchers from higher education institutions
from countries in the European Neighbourhood. The main aim of this scholarship programme is to enable scholars
to undertake research in which they are engaged in their home institution and to help them to establish academic
and research contacts. The scholarships are financially supported by the Coimbra Group member universities
participating in this programme, while the Coimbra Group Office is in charge of the administrative management of
the applications.
The eligible countries for the 2021 edition are listed below. Please note that some Coimbra Group Universities may
restrict the eligibility to some of the countries listed below – to find out if your country is eligible, please refer to the
“Remarks” section in the table at the end of this document.
Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Republic of Northern
Macedonia, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo1
, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova,
Montenegro, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Russia, Serbia, Syria, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan,
Ukraine and Uzbekistan.
The following Coimbra Group Universities are participating in the 2021 edition of the Coimbra Group Scholarship
 Eötvös Loránd University (Hungary)
 University of Granada (Spain)
 Karl Franz University of Graz (Austria)
 University of Heidelberg (Germany)
 Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi (Romania)
 Jagiellonian University Krakow (Poland)
 KU Leuven (Belgium)
 University of Padova (Italy)
 University of Poitiers (France)
 University of Salamanca (Spain)
 University of Siena (Italy)

Applicants must fulfil all the following criteria:
 be born on or after 1 January 1986
 be nationals of and current residents in one of the above-listed countries
 be current academic staff members of a university or an equivalent higher education institution located in
one of the above-listed countries
 be of postdoctoral or equivalent status, although some institutions may offer opportunities to doctoral


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *